The India e-Visa requirements are essential to obtain the necessary authorization to enter India. Among the most important requirements, you will need a valid passport, an email address and a debit or credit card. Be sure to check the validity of your passport.

Indian e-Visa Eligible Countries

The eVisa for India is currently available for citizens of 169 countries. This means that many travelers can easily obtain the necessary entry authorization to visit India. The INDIAN VISA DOCUMENT REQUIREMENTS was introduced to simplify the process of obtaining a visa and attracting more foreign visitors.

Tourism in India is important for the country’s economy and the implementation of the e-Visa makes it easier for foreign visitors to travel to India.

Below find the India e-Visa eligible countries:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Chile
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Myanmar
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Oman
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • UAE
  • United States

More countries >

Please note: e-Visa entry is currently not permitted for citizens of the countries listed below. This is a temporary measure and nationals of these countries are expected to be let into India again soon. Check this page regularly for the latest updates:

  • Canada
  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tajikistan
  • United Kingdom
  • Uzbekistan

Documents Required for the Indian e-Visa

Eligible citizens who wish to travel to India must meet several requirements. Before applying online for the Indian e-Visa, it is necessary to have the following:

  • Valid passport
  • Passport-style photo of the applicant
  • Email address
  • Credit or debit card

Passport requirements to get the India e-Visa

All applicants must ensure that they have a valid passport before applying for the e-Visa for India. This is the most important requirement to get an electronic INDIAN VISA PHOTO REQUIREMENTS.

The passport must be valid for at least 6 months on the expected date of arrival in India. Therefore, check your passport validity before submitting an application.

Applicants are required to submit a scanned color copy of the first page or the biographical page of their valid passport.

India e-Visa photo requirements

Each applicant must also submit a recent passport-style color photo that meets the following requirements:

  • The applicant’s face must be clearly visible
  • The photograph must have a white background
  • The photograph must be in focus
  • The applicant’s head must be centered
  • The photograph must show the applicant’s head from the crown to the tip of the chin

Learn more about India e-Visa photo requirements here.

Email requirements for the Indian e-Visa

Be sure to provide a current email address. When an Indian visa has been processed and approved it will be sent directly to the email address given on the application.

If you are eligible for this type of visa to India and are granted one, you must print a copy of the approved Indian e-Visa.

Personal Information Requirements

To successfully obtain the e-Visa for India, you will need to provide several details on the application form. The application cannot be submitted unless you fill in your:

  • Full name as it appears on the passport
  • Date and place of birth
  • Address and contact info
  • Passport details
  • Nationality

When completing the application form to obtain the e-Visa to India there is some information that is also expected to be provided. Applicants will need to answer:

  • Marital status
  • Profession or occupation
  • Details of stay: places to be visited while in India
  • Expected port of entry
  • Religion
  • Educational qualification

Other personal information requirements include that you will need to answer a series of security questions. You can choose yes or no based on your situation.

Yellow Fever Travel Requirements for India

India has a yellow fever travel requirement for passengers that are traveling from a country affected by yellow fever.

These travelers must obtain a vaccination and are required to present a Yellow Fever Vaccination Card on arrival.

Following is a list of all the Yellow Fever affected countries, whose citizens are required to present a Yellow Fever Vaccination Card:


  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Republic of Congo
  • DR of Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Togo
  • Uganda


  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Venezuela

Note: Travelers who do not present their Yellow Fever Vaccination Card when required will be quarantined for a maximum of 6 days, after arrival.

e-Visa India Authorized Entry Ports

Foreign visitors traveling to India with an e-Visa India must enter the country through 28 designated ports of entry. They may, however, exit from any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) in India.

Here is a list of the authorized landing Airports and seaports in India:

  • Ahmedabad
  • Amritsar
  • Bagdogra
  • Bengaluru
  • Bhubaneshwa
  • Calicut
  • Chennai
  • Chandigarh
  • Cochin
  • Coimbatore
  • Delhi
  • Gaya
  • Goa
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Jaipur
  • Kolkata
  • Lucknow
  • Madurai
  • Mangalore
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Portblair
  • Pune
  • Tiruchirapalli
  • Trivandrum
  • Varanasi
  • Vishakhapatnam

Besides the airports listed above, there are 5 seaports where a traveler can present their e-Visa for India:

  • Chennai Seaport
  • Cochin Seaport
  • Goa Seaport
  • Mangalore Seaport
  • Mumbai Seaport

All those entering India through any other port of entry will be required to apply for a standard Visa at the closest Indian Embassy or Consulate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here